Philips P 632 070 L (John Coltrane)

Previous Image
Next Image

info heading

info content


  • This album was released by Philips in Germany only. The original US album (Impulse! A-21) was released in 1962, this one is probably from 1963, maybe late 1962.

  • The recordings are from April – June 1962 and John Coltrane (saxophone) is accompanied by McCoy Tyner (piano), Jimmy Garrison (bass – as Junny Garrison on the back cover) and Elvin Jones (drums).

  • There’s one other album bearing the title “Die Neue Welle Im Jazz”, it’s by Freddie Hubbard (Philips P 632 061 L). I can imagine this was meant to be a series, but with only two volumes, it may have come to an early ending.